How we work

20blue is your partner when there’s no margin for error. Complexity is right up our street. Working with our hand-picked Expert Community, we can provide diverse perspectives and methods from social sciences – the tools you need to get to the bottom of today’s complex questions. Since 2010, we have conducted research for around 120 clients, consistently employing reliable methods and an impartial approach. Since 2020, we have used our Expert Community as a research department for content projects. Our two service areas are Expert Consulting and Expert Content. Whatever the project, we are committed to working in an academically rigorous manner.

Our Expert Community is at the heart of what we do

Our Expert Community is at the heart of everything we do. Many of our hand-picked experts have long been part of our ever-growing expert network. The network currently consists of around 250 individuals. Depending on the project at hand, we will identify the right experts from our community and put together an Expert Hub. This team of experts is often interdisciplinary and international in nature. We also look to our Expert Community when looking for someone to take on a more long-term consultancy assignment.

Our Expert Community is as diverse as your questions. If you ask a historian, a sociologist, a psychologist and a specialist in organisational research about work, you will get four different perspectives. If you ask employees or self-employed individuals, you’ll get two more.

At 20blue, there are highly qualified academics, reliable country and sector experts, talented researchers, meticulous translators and now also imaginative content creators.

Whether for a one-off or a long-term project, 20blue can provide the necessary links in the chain to ensure you have access to the expertise you need. Our job is to ensure you find out what you want to know and that our experts can work independently.

Quality is a question of management

Whatever the size and scope of the research project you commission, we want to provide the best possible answer while navigating the intersection between our clients’ interest in results and our experts’ interest in developing a deeper understanding of the subject (more on that here). With over 1000 projects under our belts, we know which workflows are feasible and deliver quality. We are in our element when things get complex.

Our agile workflow:

Driven by knowledge or driven by results

In the right context, even an individual’s knowledge can be a kind of data set. Uncovering the truth in the data is not easy though. Liking data is not the same as being able to deal with it competently. If you want solid answers, then it is essential that you make use of the right methodological skills and keep your expectations open regarding the results. The biggest challenge lies in reconciling effort and results. How much time do I need to put in to deliver a valid result? How do I divide up my research question intelligently to ensure I get a valid result in the time available? The interests of experts, particularly academics, and decision-makers in business and politics are often diametrically opposed with the former focused on developing their understanding of a subject while the latter are interested in results.

Discussions between experts and decision-makers often need to be guided to ensure they yield helpful results. This is where 20blue comes in. Having been involved in over 1000 projects, we have experienced almost everything that can happen when academia and practice – or specialist and managerial thinking – come together. It often requires a delicate touch, but if managed well, it can also be particularly fruitful.\

Methodology grounded in the social sciences

Our work differs from that of classic market researchers whose business model is based on surveys. How? We believe that insights and methods from the humanities and social sciences can often do more justice to the complexity of the decisions we make than a survey that only provides superficial information about how people respond to given phenomena. Assuming they aren’t lying, of course.

We use methods from the social sciences. Qualitative methods are the heart of our research, even if we sometimes supplement them with quantitative ones. Qualitative research is generally not considered to be representative. But does that really detract from the insights it provides?

If you want to understand the concerns and desires of a particular group, analysing a conversation using discourse-analysis methods is often more effective than a multiple-choice questionnaire. Linguistic methods allow us to identify people’s implicit knowledge: the unknown known. User biographies are incredibly helpful for recognising how people respond to societal trends. While these exploratory methods are not representative, they often provide the nuanced answers needed by companies and organisations trying to determine which decisions to make. Complexity is right up our street. We connect the dots to provide you with the explanations you need.

20blue (known as Nimirum until 2020) is very much at home in the social sciences. That’s why we primarily use qualitative research methods that do not require the complex assumptions of many quantitative approaches. You’d be surprised at the extent of the treasure that is right under your nose – it all depends on the method employed.

We even use interview methods for simple research projects. The collaboration within our Expert Hubs, for example, resembles mutual semi-structured research interviews. Qualitative interviews make it easy to relate the statements of experts from different fields to each other.

At 20blue, we are not seeking maximum representation. Indeed, very few studies outside of the academic context meet this demand.

We want to provide you with good working hypotheses and help you use the right methods to come to the best answer.

How We Work

20blue ist Ihre Partnerin, wenn’s stimmen muss. Denn Komplexität ist unser Revier. Die Multiperspektivität und sozialwissenschaftliche Methoden, die wir dank unserer handverlesenen Expert Community bereitstellen können, sind aus unserer Sicht der richtige Weg, um komplexen Fragen der Gegenwart auf die Schliche zu kommen. Seit 2011 haben rund 120 Kunden Research bei uns beauftragt. Wir moderieren diesen Prozess methodisch sicher und interessensunabhängig – und nutzen unsere Expert Community seit 2020 als Research-Abteilung für Contentprojekte. Wir nennen unsere zwei Wissensdienstleistungen Expert Consulting und Expert Content. Was sich unterscheidet ist der Output. Unser Leistungsversprechen ist das gleiche: wissenschaftlich fundiert zu arbeiten.

Expert Community im Herzen

Das Herz unseres Unternehmens ist die Expert Community. Viele unserer handverlesenen, derzeit rund 250 Expert:innen sind schon lange Teil unseres fachlichen Netzwerks, das kontinuierlich wächst. Aus unserer Community bilden wir je nach Projekt und Auftrag den passenden Expert Hub, oft interdisziplinär, oft international. Oder vermitteln die eine richtige Person für ein längerfristiges Beratungsmandat.

Unsere Expert Community selbst ist so divers wie Ihre Fragen. Fragen Sie z. B. eine Historikerin oder einen Soziologen, eine Psychologin oder einen Organisationsforscher zum Thema Arbeit, werden Sie vier Perspektiven bekommen. Fragen Sie Arbeitnehmende und Selbstständige, zwei weitere.

Sie finden bei 20blue hochqualifizierte Wissenschaftler:innen, verlässliche Länder- und Branchenkenner:innen, talentierte Researcher, zielsichere Übersetzer:innen und mittlerweile auch kreative Content Creators.

Wir spinnen je nach Auftrag lose oder feste Fäden zu Ihrem Expert bzw. Expert Hub. Unser Job besteht darin, dass Sie erfahren, was Sie wissen wollen und unsere Fachleute unabhängig und störungsfrei arbeiten können.

Qualität ist eine Frage des Managements

Egal, ob Sie eine kurze Analyse oder eine umfangreiche Studie in Auftrag geben – wir wollen die bestmögliche Antwort liefern. Dafür erkennen wir beides an: Das Ergebnisinteresse unserer Mandant:innen und das Erkenntnisinteresse unserer Expert:innen (Hier mehr zum Thema). Über 1.000 Projekte haben uns gelehrt, welche Workflows praktikabel und qualitätssichernd sind. Wenn es kompliziert wird, sind wir ganz in unserem Element.

Unser Workflow – Agiles Denken:

Über Erkenntnis- und Ergebnisinteresse

Auch der Wissensschatz einer Person ist im richtigen Kontext eine Art Datensatz. Die Wahrheit in den Daten zu erkennen ist nicht einfach. Datenliebe ist nicht das gleiche wie Datenkompetenz. Methodenskills und eine offene Ergebniserwartung sind wichtiges Handwerkszeug auf dem Weg zur guten Antwort. Die größte Herausforderung wissensorientierten Handelns aber besteht darin, Aufwand und Ergebnis in Einklang zu bringen: Wie viel Zeit muss ich investieren, um ein valides Ergebnis zu liefern? Wie teile ich die Fragestellung klug auf, damit ich in der gegebenen Zeit trotzdem zu einem validen Ergebnis komme? Das Erkenntnisinteresse von Expertinnen und Experten, insbesondere aus der Wissenschaft, und das Ergebnisinteresse von Entscheider:innen in Wirtschaft und Politik stehen sich oft diametral gegenüber.

Wenn also Fachleute und Entscheider:innen zusammensitzen, ist oft eine Moderation nötig. Diese Rolle spielt 20blue – mit dem Erfahrungsschatz aus über 1.000 Projekten haben wir schon fast alles erlebt, was passieren kann, wenn Wissenschaft und Praxis, wenn Spezialistentum und Managerdenke aufeinandertreffen. Ein heikler Moment – aber wenn er richtig moderiert wird, auch ein besonders fruchtbarer.

Sozialwissenschaft ist Methode

Unsere Arbeit unterscheidet sich von denen klassischer Marktforscher, deren Geschäftsmodell auf Umfragen basiert. Warum? Nun, zum einen gibt es davon viele, die etwas vom Geschäft verstehen. Zum anderen glauben wir, dass geistes- und sozialwissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse und Methoden der Komplexität unserer Entscheidungen häufig besser gerecht werden können als eine x-beliebige Umfrage, bei der wir ja nur herausfinden können, wie Menschen sich zu bekannten Phänomenen verhalten. Sofern sie nicht lügen.

Wir nutzen sozialwissenschaftliche Methoden. Qualitative Methoden führen in jedem Studiensetting, auch wenn wir sie bisweilen mit quantitativen ergänzen. Qualitativ bedeutet landläufig: nicht repräsentativ. Aber schmälert das wirklich die Erkenntnis?

Um herauszufinden, wo der Schuh drückt und welche Wünsche eine bestimmte Gruppe hat, ist eine diskursanalytische Auswertung eines Gesprächs mit diesen Personen oftmals hilfreicher als ein Multiple-Choice-Fragebogen. Denn mittels linguistischer Methoden kann ich auch dem unknown known auf die Spur kommen, implizitem Wissen. Nutzerbiographien wiederum sind äußerst hilfreich, um zu erkennen, wie Menschen auf gesellschaftliche Trends reagiert haben. Diese explorativen Methoden sind nicht repräsentativ, stimmt. Aber für den Alltag in Unternehmen und Organisation geht es häufig um Entscheidungsfragen – und qualitative Methoden sind viel besser geeignet, mehrschichtige Antworten zu geben. Ja, Komplexität ist unser Revier. Unsere Leistung ist es, die einzelnen Punkte miteinander zu verbinden und Ihnen eine Erklärung für bestimmte Phänomene zu liefern.

Die Heimat von 20blue (bis 2020: Nimirum) sind die Gesellschaftswissenschaften. Daher nutzen wir vor allem qualitative Forschungsmethoden, die ohne die komplexen Vorannahmen vieler quantitativer Ansätze auskommen. Sie werden staunen, wie groß der Schatz ist, der direkt vor Ihrer Nase liegt – alles eine Frage der Methode.

Schon bei einfachen Research-Projekten nutzen wir Interviewmethoden, um zum Ziel zu kommen. Unsere Zusammenarbeit in Expert Hubs etwa ähnelt gegenseitigen teilstrukturierten Research-Interviews. Durch qualitative Befragungen lassen sich die Aussagen von Expert:innen aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen gut zueinander in Bezug setzen.

Tatsächlich streben wir bei 20blue nicht nach der maximalen Repräsentativität der Daten – im Übrigen genügen nur wenige Studien außerhalb des wissenschaftlichen Kontextes diesen Ansprüchen.

Wir wollen Ihnen gute Arbeitshypothesen liefern, bei denen Sie mit den richtigen Methoden zur besten Antwort kommen.